Category: The Blue Fairy Book

The first edition consisted of 5,000 copies, which sold for 6 shillings each. The book assembled a wide range of tales, with seven from the Brothers Grimm, five from Madame d’Aulnoy, three from the Arabian Nights, and four Norwegian fairytales, among other sources. The Blue Fairy Book was the first volume in the series, and so it contains some of the best known tales, taken from a variety of sources.

The White Cat

The Red Etin

A Voyage to Lilliput – The Blue Fairy Book

The History of Jack the Giant-killer

The Story of Prince Ahmed and the Fairy Paribanou

The Princess on the Glass Hill

The Brave Little Tailor

Trusty John

Blue Beard

Prince Darling – The Blue Fairy Book

Toads and Diamonds

Hansel and Grettel – The Blue Fairy Book

Little Thumb – The Blue Fairy Book

The Wonderful Sheep

The History of Whittington