2018 Commonwealth Short Story Prize

1st November 2017
Who may enter
Entrants must be citizens of a Commonwealth country.
Entrants must be aged 18 years or over on 1st November 2017.
The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is an annual award for unpublished short fiction administered and funded by the Commonwealth Foundation.
The story should be adult fiction and must not have been written for children alone. There are no restrictions on setting, genre or theme.
Entries must be 2,000 words minimum, 5,000 words maximum.
All entries must be in English. Translations of short stories written in languages other than English are eligible if submitted by the writer (not the translator) and provided the translator is a citizen of a Commonwealth country.
Entry fees
The competition is free to enter.
There will be five winners, one from each region (Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, Caribbean, Pacific).
One regional winner will be selected as the overall winner. The overall winner of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize will receive £5,000 and the remaining four regional winners £2,500.
If the winning short story is a translation into English, the translator will receive equal prize money.
Enroll here.

Leave a Reply 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *